Brighter than a Sunflower

I’m sure we all remember the moment that we first met our first roommate. I will admit that I am one of those people who worries about everything, even if I know the possibility of that situation happening was slim to nothing.

All I was hoping for when I met my roommate was that she was quite and never really talked or came out her room. When she arrived on the first day with what seemed to be every single women in her family, I could feel the instant disconnect.

I was still very angry with my mother as much as any teenager is for no real reason behind it, besides pint up anger over the years. Needless to say I arrived with three bags and my best friends in hand, and the determination of a bull to make sure my life was going to end up differently.

My new roommate concluded to dump everything in her closet and plug in one lava lamp.. in the dead center of the room. I felt like she was going to be the first druggie I met in college, especially when she also didn’t come back after that for almost three days.

As luck may have it, what seemed to be a drugged out roommate became one of my best friends and someone I will always look back on in college and remember her love for sunflowers and farmers markets. Our year filled with crazy ups and downs, was perfect together. From our late afternoon coffee stops, record shopping, or even just reading in the grass together, she was a person that I could always count on.

But now its time to pop the bubble as some say. I did have an amazing roommate my first year, but I also had two other ones, one of which ended up trying to have me evicted, and called the cops on me, and the other barely learned my name, except to tell me to clean after myself more, but hey what can you do.

I learned from her that the best thing for a person to laugh at least once a day, as well as to always be thinking positive thoughts. So she will always be the sunflower roommate to me, that eased me into probably the worst roommates to follow the next year. But you win some, and you lose some.

 

Much Love C.S. Mann

 

 

IMG_3568

Leave a Reply

